5 Love Languages

Have you ever heard of this before? It is a book that looks a little chachi to me, but someone was talking about it at work. Among the other 99.9% of other people discussing 50 shades. Anyway, it is similar to figuring out your personality type ("Relator" here), which I have done many times in the last decade or so. Helps you understand people in your workplace and people in your lives. It doesn't mean at all that you and the "others" can't co-exist, in fact, you are supposed to complement one another. It just helps you understand them and coexist in peace.
Photo and following list found here

Anyway, here are the 5 Languages. Which one are you? I can see how identifying which one your partner, parents, or older children are can alleviate misunderstandings and frustrations. I would be language numero uno. I don't see one for "give me graham crackers", which would be my daughter. Now go speak the language to your loved ones and have a peaceful week!
  • Words of Affirmation
    Actions don’t always speak louder than words. If this is your love language, unsolicited compliments mean the world to you. Hearing the words, “I love you,” are important—hearing the reasons behind that love sends your spirits skyward. Insults can leave you shattered and are not easily forgotten.
  • Quality Time
    In the vernacular of Quality Time, nothing says, “I love you,” like full, undivided attention. Being there for this type of person is critical, but really being there—with the TV off, fork and knife down, and all chores and tasks on standby—makes your significant other feel truly special and loved. Distractions, postponed dates, or the failure to listen can be especially hurtful.
  • Receiving Gifts
    Don’t mistake this love language for materialism; the receiver of gifts thrives on the love, thoughtfulness, and effort behind the gift. If you speak this language, the perfect gift or gesture shows that you are known, you are cared for, and you are prized above whatever was sacrificed to bring the gift to you. A missed birthday, anniversary, or a hasty, thoughtless gift would be disastrous—so would the absence of everyday gestures.
  • Acts of Service
    Can vacuuming the floors really be an expression of love? Absolutely! Anything you do to ease the burden of responsibilities weighing on an “Acts of Service” person will speak volumes. The words he or she most want to hear: “Let me do that for you.” Laziness, broken commitments, and making more work for them tell speakers of this language their feelings don’t matter.
  • Physical Touch
    This language isn’t all about the bedroom. A person whose primary language is Physical Touch is, not surprisingly, very touchy. Hugs, pats on the back, holding hands, and thoughtful touches on the arm, shoulder, or face—they can all be ways to show excitement, concern, care, and love. Physical presence and accessibility are crucial, while neglect or abuse can be unforgivable and destructive.

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...